There are no words…

There are no words to describe the range of emotions brought on by this week’s assignment. This was, for me, the hardest assignment to blog about thus far.

I don’t know what I expected… Delving into military blogs, videos and podcasts was gut-wrenching, nauseating and, as Bloggin It In said, utterly “heartbreaking.” There is an element of numbness that comes from watching or reading the news about the war. Perhaps it is the way I get my news—30 second stories in the midst of other “breaking” news, quick sound bites that compete with the next story or commercial, or newspaper articles sandwiched between stories about the presidential campaign, etc… Perhaps I shut down due to the overwhelming nature of war. Perhaps I can’t get my head around it because I lack the experience to be able to fully comprehend what is going on. Perhaps it is because it is so painful. So many lives… So many affected… I don’t know. But the blogs, podcasts and videos brought it all home to me. I “got it” in a way that I had not in a long time. It was all so personal…personal thoughts, personal feelings, personal experiences, personal footage, personal pictures, personal stories and personal pain.

I cannot for a moment imagine what it would be like to endure this pain on a daily basis. There are no words…

Swarthmore College’s War News Radio reports (via VOIP) offered a stunning perspective as well. I cannot begin to imagine how one goes about doing “household chores” or “playing computer games” (like two Iraqi men said in one War News Radio report) while being locked in at home due to gun-fire, bombs and violence in the neighborhood (ultimately leading to the 500 deaths and 1000 injuries). I tried to think of what it would be like to live that war each day…what if the war were here? What would it be like near my house, in my neighborhood, at my grocery store, outside my window? What would it be like to try to get my coupon so that I could get a small amount of rationed oil to heat my home, to cook my meals and to drive my car? What would it be like to come to the realization that the coupon had been stolen and I had no oil for the month…perhaps again? Or, what would it be like trying to protect those people holed-up in their homes from an enemy I cannot understand? What would it be like to risk my life? Or worse, what if it were my son or daughter fighting the war? What would it be like to face that on a relentless and daily basis? I have no clue. But the Internet (blogs, videos, podcasts) allows us all to embark on a journey towards understanding, which is critically important.

~ by eTechnorize on April 7, 2008.

5 Responses to “There are no words…”

  1. Becky-
    I found that I had many of the same feelings as you did regarding our search this week on the War in Iraq. It really makes you think about how we live each day in comparison to how they live…and much like you mentioned, I cant imagine what it would be like fighting over there or having family or friends fighting. I feel almost removed from the War, like you said we are all so busy that we just get a clip here and there from the news or radio in the car. We never get the details as we did this week.

    I think having social media tools like blogging and Youtube, even Flickr helps the soldiers to communicate what is going on in their lives and in Iraq…it probably helps get them through the days, months, and even years.

  2. Becky, I agree 100% with you and Colleen. We don’t have the war on our doorstep, so I don’t think we’ll ever fully comprehend what it’s like in Iraq. I think these blogs and other social tools are not only helpful for the rest of the world to understand the situation, but maybe cathartic for the soldiers and Iraqis who are living it through it as it gives them another way to express their emotions.

  3. Very good insight on the difficulty associated with this week’s assignment. I also share your view with regard to War Radio. What an amazing accomplishment….

  4. Becky, I am just about to go through the links for this week. After class last night, I am sure, I am on the same emotional path as you describe. The picture of the boots reminds me of the room in the Holocaust Museum here i Washington DC filled up with shoes – owned by Jews. Someone has worn those boots. Where are they now?

  5. […] to keep up dated on the political debate and the war itself.  I am totally on the same path as BeckBlogic Weblog and CMK Dimples […]

Leave a Reply

 
